Living in “Ayni”

I’ve been meaning to elaborate a little on why there is a spiritual practice associated with our farm. Since we have our first moon ceremony approaching on Saturday, now is an opportune time to elaborate.

When I lived in California I went through a series of spiritual growth spurts. I received Munay Ki rites that have passed down through generations of Andean Shamans. One of the nine rites was the Earthkeepers rite:

This rite connects you to the archangels that are guardians of our solar system, stewards of all life on Earth. It lifts you from your earth-bound existence and sets your spirit free to begin your journey to the stars -beginning with the sun, our local star- so you may dream your world into being.

These nine rites bring people closer to something called “Ayni” or “right relationship.”

Another time of spiritual growth was the year I spent in the Incan Medicine Wheel where I went through a rigorous series of self discovery and healing learning how to be a self-referencing Shaman. This is where I really began to learn about Ayni and was also about the same time I started to realize I would one day serve as an Earthkeeper in this world.

It is very important to me to be in Ayni with the land where we live. This includes all aspects; the trees, the birds, the wasps, the soil, the waters that run through it…

I really believe the Earth has life and IS life. We are responsible for taking care of it and only taking what we need. “Leave no trace” as they say in backpacking. In the Medicine Wheel we learned to “keep our rivers clean” and to “walk in beauty.”

When we do ceremonies, such as moon ceremonies, despachos or sand paintings, we bring ourselves into that right relationship. We are aligning with God’s plan for our lives and for His creation.

That is why I can’t ignore I am in a spiritual practice as much as I am planting a farm or garden. This isn’t “my” farm. This is our farm and the farm of our descendants long after we’re gone. This opportunity is only made possible by generations before me. If we treat it well, it will do the same to us in return.

Leave a Reply

